Let Me Paint You A Picture

Image

*Neil Buchanan’s voice* This is an Art Attack. THIS is an Art Attack. THIS IS Art Attack!!!

Hi there, reader! So, somebody called me a little crazy last time for reading an Accounting book this vacation. She’s somewhat right at some point, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I really should pay more attention to making the most of my remaining vacation days.

I’ve always loved painting book covers ever since  that day last year. I was reviewing for a test in the midst of a strong typhoon when I got bored and remembered that I still had Acrylic paint from my Humanities project. It was fun, I must say. Now that boredom usually kicks in, and I’m not in the mood to read anything (I don’t know why, though), I started painting book covers again. I know these aren’t all pleasing to the eyes but forgive me I just love doing this. It’s funny how most of my favorite books have minimalist covers and they were not being a pain in the neck. I’m not really into painting but because of these books that have a big part in my heart, I’ve come to love the brushes, colors, mixer. Just everything.

ImageDespite the messy look my room had achieved, it gave me that sense of fulfillment. It’s weird but for once, it felt like I’m a part of something big. Weird.

ImageThanks to Jerry Spinelli’s book designer for making such easy covers. Plain but immensely adorable.

Image

Also, John Green’s movie adaptation of TFiOS’ release is getting near. How near? Oh I don’t know, but both Gus and Hazel’s role were revealed. Shailene Woodley is playing Tris while Ansel Elgort is playing Gus. Being Tris and Caleb Prior in Veronica Roth’s Divergent, I hope we won’t feel awkward watching TFiOS and then Divergent. Either way, we’d love to watch both movies ASAP. A collaboration between two wonderful authors wouldn’t hurt too!

ImageNow this is by far my favorite painting. Hihi. Like Craig, I like making maps. Close enough to the original, isn’t it? 🙂

ImageThere you go! I can’t wait to get myself an album so I can neatly keep them there. Yikes!

Our truest response to the irrationality of the world is to paint or sing or write, for only in such response do we find truth. — Madeleine L’Engle

Leave a Reply

