N-E-R-D

Day 25, May 25th, Saturday: Something someone told you about yourself that you’ll never forget (good or bad).

Last year we were shooting for our Senakulo, a traditional Lenten play that recounts the life, suffering and death of Christ. I reckon you, reader, are familiar with that. Markii, a friend of ours volunteered to play the main role even though he’s no longer our classmate. What a nice guy. Bless his heart.

We were not in the same circle of friends when we were still in freshmen days, and I couldn’t remember how the topic went there when we were having our break. So he was telling us how those days he and his friends didn’t bother talking to me and AJ. We asked him why, and what he and his friends’ impressions of us were.

He gave us this really wide improbable grin and told us, “We thought if we’re gonna talk to you, you’ll just answer us with debits and credits.” And I must say, I was at loss on how to react on that. I didn’t know if that came to me as a compliment or as an insult. I just found myself laughing at what he said.

So yeah. I didn’t know we appear to others as hardcore nerds, though we usually strike conversations with people. We’re a little shy, yes. At first. But it never occurred to me that my actions can really be something different from other people’s perspective. Haha. I just can’t forget that. There’s nothing I can do, though. 🙂

I do not exist to impress the world. I exist to live my life in a way that will make me happy. — Richard Bach (Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah)

2 thoughts on “N-E-R-D

  1. i’m a pretty serious girl. i’m in my head a lot. i’ve got small eyes, a long face a prominent jaw, which means when i’m deep in thought, i appear pissed off to others. and i’m not. i’m just thinking. but it puts people off.

Leave a Reply

