032014: We are whatever we choose to be.

Image

i wasn’t informed that i should have mimicked theo’s pose lmao

Our movie date was supposedly today but because of some reasons, we pushed it through yesterday. It was timely, given that it was the first day of showing and my mind, body and soul were more than ready to be thoroughly and irretrievably damaged by the movie. Thankfully, the movie did the book justice. Of course there were some essential parts that they got rid of, but I guess that’s  simply inevitable. If they’d put every gory detail into action, I can’t imagine what date we would be leaving the cinema. And yey! I watched it with my dauntless friend. Have I mentioned it before how this book/movie has become a big part of our friendship? I guess not.. yet? Okay. I read this book almost two years ago in the midst of an upcoming major exam. I bought Divergent on impulse, after reading the intriguing reviews at the back. And oh, plus the pretty cover. I’m not even sorry to say this but I got a low score on my Accounting quiz because of not reviewing and spending the whole night nosing the book. IT WAS AWESOME. Fast forward to December that year when this friend, who happened to be Chui, was having a rough month because of some people. So I did give her my very own copy of the book because I know she’s capable of so much more, that she’s dauntless. And she proved me right. I guess if there’s a book that signifies our friendship, it’s Divergent. While watching, I couldn’t help but see myself in Christina’s character and Chui’s in Tris’. Candor and Abnegation to Dauntless. Reader, I hope you do get me.

It felt weird seeing Miles Teller acting as Peter when a few months back I was just watching Spectacular Now. Oh well, Shailene, Ansel and Miles really are in demand. I don’t know if there’s a shortage of actors these days. Then on August I would be seeing Shailene and Ansel as Hazel and Gus. Not that I’m against it, but thank God I still have a few months more to get over this image of them being the Prior siblings. LOL. AND BY THE WAY, VERONICA ROTH’S CAMEO WAS PERFECT.

Forget about labels. Candor, Erudite, Amity, Abnegation or Dauntless, we are whatever we choose to be.

Until next time, reader! DFTBA.

I have a theory that selflessness and bravery aren’t all that different. — Veronica Roth (Divergent (Divergent, #1))

2 thoughts on “032014: We are whatever we choose to be.

  1. Ahhh I haven’t seen it yet, but I am debating whether or not to even go see Divergent because I don’t think I can get over the fact that they’re siblings here… and that they are not in TFIOS lol. Even with the months between, I’m not sure I can get over it! lol

    • YOU SHOULD WATCH IT. LIKE NOW OR YOU’LL MISS THEO’S ADAM’S APPLE LOL. But seriously, it was amazing. From the casting to the OST. Omg. Shailene was awesome. You’ll get over the Prior siblings in no time. Trust Hazel’s really short hair cut and you’ll be okay 🙂

Leave a Reply

